My Return to the Ocean

This morning was the first occasion on which I have shot a seascape since June of 2013 — quite a long time.

In the past few weeks I have felt a desire to head back out in the pre-dawn darkness and photograph the ocean and coastline again, a desire which has not been in me for over two years.

I met up with old photography mate Glenn at the break of dawn at Little Bay in Sydney‘s eastern suburbs, and we headed up onto the cliffs to capture the ocean and the morning light.

Here is the one of the images I captured:

Big Waves in Little Bay

Big Waves in Little Bay

This under-rated location is not prominently featured in the galleries of Sydney-based seascapers, but it has some great cliffs and coves where powerful sets of waves collide with the rocks and produce brilliant splashes and water flows.

This morning’s conditions were not the greatest I’ve experienced, but at least I got out and literally got my feet wet again, in an attempt to re-ignite my passion for seascape photography.

I am looking forward to heading out again next week.

Leave a Reply

