Web Site Refresh

Over the past few weeks, I’ve found a creative and technical outlet in the form of Web site development, and I’ve been channeling that creative urge in cosmetically (and to some degree, functionally) re-developing my Web site (http://www.xenedis.net).

Specifically, I’ve been mucking around with more CSS (cascading style sheets), and finding ways to use it more for layout, as well as graphical and textual effects.

I have had a Web site of some form or another since 1996, and I was pleased with my 2008 re-design, and the few minor changes in the following years.  However, it needed some cosmetic refreshment to give it a more current look.

My previous design consisted of a black background, which can be great for presentation of images, in that the colours appear more vibrant and stand out; but black can be too harsh on the eyes.

So, over the past few weeks, I’ve come up with a newer look.  The basic structure is the same, but graphically and in terms of layout, I feel it is a more modern look and presents my images and the accompanying text better than my previous site.

I’ve also added some extra functionality to allow viewers to view my images larger by clicking a button, which will then present a clean, simple overlay showing the image in 1,024px format.

Below are some screen captures of how my site looks as of 21 December, 2014 (click the previews for a 1,600 x 1,067px full-size view).

This is the main page:

Main Page

Main Page

This is the view presented when selecting an album:

Album View

Album View

This is the album menu:

Albums

Albums

This is the image display page, showing an image in 3:2 (landscape) aspect ratio:

Image View (3:2)

Image View (3:2)

This is the image display page, showing an image in 2:3 (portrait) aspect ratio:

Image View (2:3)

Image View (2:3)

This is the image display page, showing an image in 1:1 (square) aspect ratio:

Image View (1:1)

Image View (1:1)

This is the large view display page, showing an image in 3:2 (landscape) aspect ratio:

Large View (3:2)

Large View (3:2)

This is the large view display page, showing an image in 2:3 (portrait) aspect ratio:

Large View (2:3)

Large View (2:3)

This is the large view display page, showing an image in 1:1 (square) aspect ratio:

Large View (1:1)

Large View (1:1)

I am quite pleased with the new look, and I’m sure my experimentation and enhancement work is not finished yet; in time to come, I’m sure I’ll make more changes here and there.

Leave a Reply

