Latest Acquisition: Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

I’ve just come home with my latest lens (and the first lens purchase in over six years): a Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM.

When out shopping in the city yesterday, I visited a few camera stores, one of which happened to have one available for sale at a very good price.

For a few years I have wanted a Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM (either the original or the lighter, newer mark II) for wildlife photography in Africa.

The 400/2.8L IS is a lens after which I have lusted for nine years, but one I never really expected or planned to buy.

When I discovered this one yesterday, it was too good to pass up.

With my Canon Extender EF 1.4x II and Canon Extender EF 2x II,  I will achieve 560mm at f/4 and 800mm at f/5.6 respectively, which should cover our next African photography safari quite nicely, allowing me to achieve tighter, more selectively-focused images of the incredible wildlife there.

Last time I took my Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM, and achieved longer focal lengths of 420mm at f/4 and 600mm at f/5.6.

I’m looking forward to exploiting the 400/2.8L IS’s well-documented capabilities, and landing images with the signature look this lens provides.

3 thoughts on “Latest Acquisition: Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

  1. Pingback: Waxing Gibbous | Xenedis Phoblography

  2. Pingback: It’s Official: Kenya African Wildlife Photography Trip | Xenedis Phoblography

  3. Pingback: 2014 Retrospective: Low-Output Year, but Such is Life | Xenedis Phoblography

Leave a Reply

