Back into Portraiture

It’s been quite a while since I shot portraits — over eighteen months, in fact.

Until today, my last portrait shoot was in October of 2010.  I decided to take a break from shooting portraits, and as it turned out, I spent most of 2011 shooting images outside the scope of my main two subject matter interests: seascapes and portraits.

By chance at a group photoshoot/workshop recently, I ran into Chris, whom I had previously met in the pre-dawn darkness at a seascape shoot early in April.

This time Chris had his daughter with him.  While I was setting up, he came over, introduced his daughter Shani, and told me they were both interested in doing some portrait work with me.  With one look at her amazing eyes, I knew that she should be in front of my camera.

Let me introduce Shani:

Enshrouded

Enshrouded

See what I mean about her eyes?

Not only does Shani work well in front of a camera, but she is a fashion designer who designs and makes her own clothing.

In the future, she will be modelling her designs and creations in front of my lens.

Shani is a great model, lots of fun, and we’re looking forward to creating more images together.  We have a few concepts in mind, so it’s only a matter of time before the images come to life.

Here is another image I shot of Shani earlier during our session today.

Shani

Shani

I’m looking forward to working more with Shani, and that chance meeting, combined with the group shoot/workshop, re-invigorated my desire to shoot portraits.

To quote one of my favourite YouTube personalities, “life is good”.

2 thoughts on “Back into Portraiture

  1. Andy

    Johnno,
    Beautiful girl, great eyes! Love the Arabian look. Glad to see your back into portraits, and I look forward to seeing more.
    Andy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

