Getting Back into Seascaping

The year 2011 has now passed us, and photographically, for me it was a year in which seascape imagery took a very pronounced back seat to other forms of photography.

My photographic output was generally lower than my efforts over the previous five years, but my focus in 2011, when I did shoot, was cityscapes, architecture and HDR imaging.

Looking back at my seascape efforts in 2011, I headed out for only a handful of shoots, and on one occasion the light was decidedly so bad that I downed tools.  I became decidedly disinterested in seascaping, and was generally not motivated.

In the past few weeks, I’ve started to get the seascaping ‘itch’ again, and have decided to return to seascaping in 2012.

I have a shoot planned for Saturday at a location which has been on my list for quite some time, but which I’ve never managed to visit.

And while I’m still on leave from work, I’ll be venturing out for a few other seascape shoots, commencing this week.

In the mean time, here’s an early morning image I shot during our recent holiday to the NSW Central Coast.

The Channel

The Channel

I am feeling motivated, I’m wanting fresh, dramatic images; I’m re-connecting with seascape shooting buddies, and combined with the time I have available to me over the next three weeks, it’s time to make hay while the sun shines; so some new seascape images can certainly be expected of me this year.

 

Leave a Reply

