Feature Article in Australian Photography Magazine – November, 2011

A few months ago, I was asked by Robert Keeley, the editor of Australian Photography magazine, if I would consider writing a feature for the magazine.

I had sent some images for the magazine’s competition, and when he received them for review, he saw a story in one of the images.

The image which captured his attention was one in which I had used a variety of light painting techniques in the darkness to produce an interesting image.

So began my foray into the world of article writing for magazines, with a story on creative light painting.

It was quite a difficult experience, as space in magazines is extremely limited, and for someone as liberal with wordsmithing as I tend to be, there just isn’t sufficient space.  As such, I had to come up with some creative ways of preserving all of the information I wanted to get across, while fitting within the limitations.

I submitted my first draft, and after some minor edits, the article was published in a six-page spread, along with numerous light painting images I have produced, and stories about what went into them.

Here’s a preview of my article, which features in the November, 2011 edition of Australian Photography.

Feature Article in Australian Photography Magazine - November, 2011

Feature Article in Australian Photography Magazine – November, 2011

I hope those who read my article learn something new, enjoy what I have written, and gain inspiration to go out and try some creative light painting.

 

Leave a Reply

