Temporary Hiatus

Of late I’ve found that I haven’t had much inspiration for, or interest in, photography.

I haven’t shot much, I haven’t published much, and I haven’t written much, either here or on a photography forum I frequent.

I am not feeling inspired to even read the forum or some unread photography magazines that have been sitting unread for many weeks, and I haven’t been to my camera club for over two months.

I suspect it’s a combination of several factors:

  1. it’s that time of year when I find myself very tired and in need of a rest;
  2. the fact that I have had and continue to have a fair amount going on both personally and work-wise; and
  3. a lack of recent ‘wow-factor’ images that inspire me to shoot more.

It’s probably just a phase that will pass with time.

15 thoughts on “Temporary Hiatus

    1. Xenedis Post author

      Thanks Harry.

      Unfortunately I won’t be able to make it tonight due to work commitments; my attendance is going to be patchy for the next five weeks or so.

      I’ll be at Des’s workshop on Saturday, though.

      Reply
  1. Andrew

    Nothing wrong with taking a break to recharge the battery!

    In the past when I’ve gone through a similar stage I’ve actually decided to not even attempt to get a ‘wow factor’ images, but instead to explore other photographic genres/styles/locations without any pressure whatsoever. The only goal I set myself was to learn something new, or to see something in a new light.

    Cheers!
    Andrew.

    Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Sounds like a good approach. Indeed I have tried a form of photography so far removed from what I do, but I know where my passion is, an it’s just a matter of continuing its pursuit when I feel I have the energy for the chase.

      Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Indeed it is. I’m sure it’s just a natural rhythm, but also, other things have been going on, so that contributes to it too.

      When you’re down here over Christmas, you can be sure I’ll drag you to a few of the better seascape locations; won’t want to miss that.

      Reply
  2. timwratephotography

    Don’t stress mate, I knmow exactly what you mean.

    The best thing is, as you said, it’s temporary… You’ll get your photomojo back!!!!

    Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Thanks Matthew. I think it’s a time-of-year thing. I do have some photographic plans, but there’s no rush, and I’ve generally got a lot happening lately anyway.

      I’ll return once the urge hits me. Lately it just hasn’t been there.

      Reply
  3. Karen Scrimes

    Hey Xenedis,

    I hope your Mojo returns soon. I know what you mean, I had the same thing happen awhile ago, but as you know it does pass! Hey are you with St George cam club? I was at Brent’s presentation last night.

    Cheers

    Karen :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

