Solid Gold

This morning I took some friends from my camera club to Turimetta on Sydney’s northern beaches.  Some hadn’t shot seascapes (or shot them much), so were keen to try upon my offer.

Unfortunately my wish for a good sky this morning yet again did not come true; the sky was plain and very bright.

I didn’t shoot much at all, and gave up out of frustration, packing up my camera quite a while before the others were done.  I’ve had a frustrating few days.

The conditions were wrong in every way; the sky sucked, it was blowing a gale, the tide was too high and much of the famous Turimetta gorge was filled with sand, covering the great rocks for which this location is well-known.

However, during the pre-dawn light I did land one gem thanks to some light painting I did with my trusty Maglite 6D torch.  Here it is:

Solid Gold

Solid Gold

Thankfully my companions got to experience some dawn seascaping, and for some, a fairly new form of photography.  On parting they expressed to me their thanks and enjoyment of the morning.

All was not lost, and hopefully they are keen to explore this subject more.

12 thoughts on “Solid Gold

  1. Quang Tran

    Nice one J. the tile is so appropriate! 8).
    I couldn’t agree more with the sky, headed down to Maroubra this morning and I was quite surprised how bright it got so quickly.

    Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Thanks Quang.

      I’m so tired of plain skies. Of all the times I’ve been out for a dawn seascape shoot this year, I’ve had five decent skies.

      Plain skies are uninteresting and incredibly difficult from an exposure perspective.

      Reply
  2. Nick

    Hey J,
    even though the conditions weren’t great I had a great time….
    Still haven’t had a chance to have a good look at mine but I’d be more than happy with anything that resembles your posted image..nice work…

    Reply
  3. Glenn

    I feel your pain mate, I got up at 0430 this morning with the very intention of going to Turri, but took one look at the sky and wimped out. Great capture though, gotta love those torches. :)

    Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      You do indeed know my thoughts on plain skies. :-)

      I would have bailed, too, only I had a bunch of people coming along. When I looked outside at 3:20am, saw the plain sky in the darkness and heard the wind, I knew the news was not good.

      Reply
  4. Harry

    Hey John,
    Nice image mate!
    Thanks heaps for making the effort to organise the morning shoot. Despite the plain sky we all had a great time, and I’m sure we all walked away with some nice images.

    Cheers…
    Harry

    Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Hey Harry.

      Glad you had a good time. Wait until the sky puts on a real show. :-)

      Please let me know once you’ve got some images online; it’ll be interesting to see what you made from the conditions.

      Reply
    1. Xenedis Post author

      Hey Nick.

      Good processing job on that. The central composition works in that image, and is one of the few occasions where I’d consider it acceptable (for my taste, anyway).

      I’ll have to drag you to Long Reef some time in the next few months; it’s a spectacular location with so many opportunities, and from every dawn shoot I’ve done there, I’ve come away with very pleasing images.

      I guess I was lucky with the sky, as it was great every time I went there at dawn.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Abstract Interpretation vs. Literal Depiction | Xenedis Phoblography

Leave a Reply

