Partial Lunar Eclipse – 26 June, 2010

As I type this, the moon is undergoing a partial eclipse.

I don’t often shoot the moon (it’s been done to death, and I had great success during the 2007 eclipse), but given the easy opportunity and the lack of effort required, I went outside with 600mm of focal length and captured this image of the partial eclipse:

Lunar Eclipse on 26 June, 2010

Lunar Eclipse on 26 June, 2010

I used my Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM, Canon Extender EF 2x II, a tripod, remote cable release and mirror lockup.

Photographed at 9:16pm on 26/06/2010 with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II at 600mm for 1/160 sec at f/8 and ISO 200.

One thought on “Partial Lunar Eclipse – 26 June, 2010

  1. Glenn

    Great capture mate. *quietly suffers lens envy, but not brand envy* ;) Saw this last night on the way home from dinner with friends and had one of those “damn I wish I had my camera gear” moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

